Welcome to Hypocritique Brazil!

My first blog post! Believe it or not, I moved to Belo Horizonte, Brazil, nearly 8 months ago, and have been meaning to start a blog since day one. As anyone who has spent any time in Brazil will know, this is one laid-back country (unless you include the roads…don’t get me started on that) so I’ve been following suit and taking my time.When people from back home in the UK ask where in Brazil I live, 99% of the time they have never heard of the city of Belo Horizonte. In fact, 99% of the time, Brits have only heard of Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo; each said with varying extents of hilarious pronunciations, myself included. To the average Brit, Brazil is famous for football, beautiful women (they all look like Victoria’s Secret models), samba and carnaval. That doesn’t sound bad does it?

The truth is, I am learning that there is much more to Brazil than its reputation would suggest. Whilst it has recently slipped behind the UK back into seventh place in the list of the world’s biggest economies, Brazil has taken huge strides in recent years, and the rest of the world is starting to take notice. Brazil is hosting not only the 2014 FIFA World Cup, but also the 2016 Olympics, with several big events set to take place in the city of Belo Horizonte during both occasions. Being the host country is a huge honour, but one that comes with some equally huge challenges, not least in terms of security, but also in terms of catering for the huge influx of tourists, many of whom will visit lesser-known cities such as Belo Horizonte that simply don’t have the same experience of tourism or the infrastructure at present to cope with it.

In the run-up to the Games and beyond, I hope to use my Hypocritique Brazil blog to write about all things Brazilian from a foreigner’s perspective. I plan to touch on all aspects of life in Brazil and in particular, Belo Horizonte. How easy is it to get around the language barrier? What is happening in preparation for the Games? Which are the best local restaurants? What should you expect as a first-time visitor? When did I last giggle at the sound of a brazilian ordering a coke? And so on.

It is an exciting time to be living in Brazil and by sharing my experiences, I hope to encourage more people to visit this vast country with the big heart. I hope you will share your experiences with me too.

13 responses to “Welcome to Hypocritique Brazil!

      • I love blogging, it is a hobby I wish I started years ago. I try to think of stuff to write but that never works, it just comes to me when I see or hear something. It will be nice to read about life outside SP! The only tip I can think of is to comment on other blogs to get more traffic. I try to do that but don’t always have the time. Should increase visitors though!! 🙂 Good luck!

  1. Good luck! I am now living in Brazil and have a dual vision – I am a dual US and Brazilian citizen, with a Brazilian mother and an American father. I was born and raised in the US, but visited Brazil often growing up. But I just moved here for the first time – and it’s a whole different world living than visiting. And yes, no one has heard of Fortaleza (where I live) either. 🙂
    I wish you luck in your journey and I encourage you to take a look at my post “Speaking the Truth on the Street” that addresses some of the huge challenges facing Brazil in preparing for the World Cup – particularly corruption and corporate interests. There’s also http://www.opencopa.com that’s a great resource, too. Best of luck!

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog. I am really looking forward to following your journey. I have not been placed yet for my position but one of the possibilities is Belo Horizonte! Looks like an amazing place. Keep the stories coming!

    • Thanks, I’m looking forward to seeing how you get on too. It sounds really interesting what you will be doing here. Let me know if you come to BH! And I’ve got a post coming soon about brazilian cuisine which might be of interest.

  3. Welcome to the world of Blogging, I’m a Brit living and newly blogging in Saquarema, RJ. I’m loving Brazil for a lot of the reason that seem to annoy other foreigners. I feel in a lot of ways that I’ve travelled back in time, that’s wonderful. We live on a small farm in the small coastal town of Saquarema, my son has the kind of childhood that I had but isn’t possible in the UK anymore. He’s still a young little boy here in contrast his cousin of the same age who lives in very rural Lancashire in the UK, he is so much older in every way and frankly not for the better, but that’s a whole new debate!
    Of course I have problems sometimes (visas etc) but that’s life anywhere, give me a Brazilian civil servant over a British jobsworth any day! Here we’ll have coffee and chat (well mainly mime as my portuguese is rubbish, my son is fluent) then they help me sort things, that’s not how things happen in the UK anymore and haven’t for a very long time. I left the UK because I could not stand how much bureaucracy was introduced to make running my business, frankly a nightmare, so the red tape here seems minimal in comparison, it’s all relative.
    Personally, Brazilians have renewed my faith in humanity, I love living here. I hope you can find the same contentment, good luck.

    • Thank you for your comment! I will take a look at your blog too. It’s nice that your son has a better childhood here in Brazil. Although I am surprised that you think there is less bureaucracy here than in the UK! Never in the UK did I have to travel all over town to different cartorios for this and that for seemingly pointless pieces of paper or stamps. Perhaps in the smaller towns it isn’t like that.

Leave a Reply

